Archive/Unarchive Service

DNAnexus has made a new archive/unarchive service available on the platform on 11/1/2019. Learn more about the feature in this FAQ.

What are the differences between the old archive service and the new archive service?

The differences can be summarized as follows:

Old Archive Service

New Archive Service

Project-based

File-based

Works only on projects

Works on files, folders, and projects

DNAnexus-assisted

User-directed

APIs are not accessible to users

APIs are accessible to licensed users

Complicated process (see figures below)

Simplified process (see figures below)

Files are automatically archived when moved into an archived project

Files are archived at user request

Change of the Archive Service
Change of the Unarchive Service

If I was using the old archive service before, what changes do I need to be aware of in the transition to the new service?

First, if you were using the old archive service, there will be no impact to the files that you have already archived. Second, files that you move to old archived projects will not automatically be archived any longer. Alternatively, you can use new archive service to archive the original project periodically; the platform will archive all the live files in the project and skip files that have been archived. And finally, you will no longer need to create a special archived project to archive or unarchive files any more.

When will the new archive service be available?

The new archive service became available on November 1st, 2019

Am I be able to continue using the old archive service?

No. The old archive service has been terminated when the new archive service started on November 1st, 2019

Can any user archive or unarchive files?

No. Only those users in the project with CONTRIBUTE and ADMINISTRATOR permissions to a project can archive or unarchive files that reside in the project. For the -allCopies option, users must have the org-admin role for the billTo org of the project.

If I have two copies of files in different projects of the same billTo org and I archive only one copy, how will the archive service handle this case?

The copy that is initiated for archiving will transition into the “archival” state, and the other copy will remain in the “live” state. You will incur a standard storage rate for one copy of the file size. If the second copy of the file is called for archive, the file will first transition to the “archival” state. Because all the copies of the file in the same billTo org are requested for archive, the file will finally be in the “archived’ state and moved to the archival storage and incur an archival storage cost for one copy of the file size.

CopyA of a file in ProjectA in billTo OrgA

CopyB of a file in ProjectB in billTo OrgA

CopyC of a file in ProjectC in billTo OrgB

Cost for OrgA

Cost for OrgB

live

live

live

1x standard storage cost*

1x standard storage cost

live

live

archived

1x standard storage cost

1x archive storage cost

archival

live

live

1x standard storage cost

1x standard storage cost

archival

live

archived

1x standard storage cost

1x archive storage cost

archival => archived **

archival => archived **

live

1x archive storage cost

1x standard storage cost

archival => archived **

archival => archived **

archived

1x archive storage cost

1x archive storage cost

* storage cost for 1 copy of the file

** The first copy of the file has been requested to be archived and in archival states, when the second copy of the file is requested to be archived, the second copy of the file will transiently transition to the archival state. Because all the copies in the billTo org are in the archival states, the system will transition the file into the archived state.

If I share a copy of the file with another org, and I archive the file, how will I get charged?

If all the copies of the file in your billTo org are all requested to be archived, the file will be transitioned to the archived state, and you will incur an archival storage rate, while the file in the other org will still be in the live state and incur a standard storage charge in the other billTo org.

If I have multiple copies of the same file in different projects of the same billTo org, how can I archive all the copies at the same time?

You can do this using the “-allCopies” option but you must be the org-admin to do so.

Can I still mark a project as “archived” and move files into the project to have them automatically archived?

No. In the new archive service, we don’t label the archive state of a project. All projects, which are containers for the files within them, are the same.

Where can I find more information about the new archive service?

You can find documentation for the new archive service in several different locations: